INTERVIEW | with photographer travis williams

img_9191 Boy can this guy tell a story with his pictures! Recently I got the awesome opportunity to sit down with photographer Travis Williams and pick his brain. It was so beneficial to talk to a pro. Not only is he wonderful at taking pictures, he is a great business man! He knows his market and knows how to market himself. I didn’t realize he has a quite a story himself of how he came to be Travis Williams the photographer!

300_8646_toped_TWP

How did you get started in photography?
When I was young I actually had dreams of being a Automotive Engineer. Although going to school proved it wasn’t something I was cracked up for. Instead, by prompts from my father, I got a degree in Open Water Scuba Instruction. There I found a passion. Along with my father, I got to go all over the world doing that – 16 countries in total. I even swam with hammerhead sharks! That’s where I started assisting my father with taking pictures underwater.

After settling down with my wife and working at dive shops, I decided to start my own IT consulting business. There I learned what it took to have my own business. After several years at that, I went back to my first love which was the auto industry. I worked as a auto-broker and in my spare time took pictures of my kids. In the fall of 2006 I was approached by a friend who wanted me to shoot their wedding! Within a month I had 6 weddings booked.

6056_1191536636099_1458894047_30533658_2760916_n

6056_1184325695830_1458894047_30507765_7564973_n

What is your typical day like?
A good slice of everything. I try to mesh ministry into my work as much as I can. I start out by managing my online presence which is pretty massive and takes up a lot of my week. I will then work on post-production. On a good day I will shoot on location or have a one-on-one lunch encouraging a believer.

What do you especially enjoy about your work?
The creative process, the people, and actually taking pictures!

What is your favorite thing to shoot?
I DO PEOPLE.
I really enjoy engagement sessions and seniors. I like to take time with them to get to know them. The session then becomes highly stylized to that particular person. I love seeing how creative and personal it can be.

300_6807_toped_promo_TWP

300_8193_toped_promos_TWP

What kinds of challenges do you face?
Balancing of everything and making sure no area suffers. I really don’t get into the creative stuff until late at night. Also keeping up with technology and staying edgy.

6056_1189160096687_1458894047_30525095_4056592_n

What are some of the important factors that have contributed to your success?
Previous experiences such as my scuba diving days where I learned organizational skills. I also knew how to market a business from running my own IT business. Networking with other photographers personally and online via fredmiranda.com helped me build a network of peers.

How do you recommend someone get started in the business?
Best way for me was to find pros to assist. Also make a plan. Lenses is where it’s at!

587128993_300_0895_toped_TWP

Anything else?
Constantly market your business. I do this through twitter, facebook, and my blog. Facebook was made for photographers.

5336_1197583307262_1458894047_30554457_6044836_n

Stay tuned to see photos Travis took of me! And visit traviswilliamsphotography.com in the meantime!


2 responses to “INTERVIEW | with photographer travis williams

  1. You are a journalist too!!! Hahahaha. Your blog is so well done Kelly. I hope it opens up some new doors for you in all these creative avenues you love so much.

  2. Hooray for Travis!! A really great guy with a really great heart.

Leave a comment