A PERSONALIZED BIRTHDAY GIFT IDEA

I loved how this personalized birthday present turned out! Last week it was my friend Amber’s birthday and some of my friends and I wanted to give her some extra special. We came up with this idea of giving her original art from each one of us but also making it a set so all four artworks matched as well. We started by thinking of things that remind us of Amber, who she is as a person, and what makes her unique. Then we hand drew what we had thought of on paper.

After that I scanned each drawing into the computer, added a touch of color, re-sized it and printed it out. I then bought 4 sheets of black and white damask craft paper and matted (using spray adhesive) each picture with the paper. I picked the damask pattern because I knew it would fit really well in Amber’s house. This was a lot of fun to work on together and I think Amber really liked it!

Maybe it will inspire you to give your friends a personalized gift using your talents?

My Artwork:

I decided to draw peonies because it is both mine and Amber’s favorite flower.

Jenna’s Artwork:

Jenna chose to draw a house because Amber truly blesses others with her home. Her and her husband really enjoy having guests and making delicious meals for them. I always feel special when I get to go over there!

Brittany’s Artwork:

Amber lived in Chicago for awhile and really loves and misses the city so Brittany wanted to bring the city into her Tucson home :)

Becca’s Artwork:

This one is pretty self-explanatory but Amber is a teacher so Becca wanted to draw something that represented that. Also they share a love for the Twilight books, hence the book title. haha

Here’s us with Amber’s new present. Happy Birthday Amber!!

12 responses to “A PERSONALIZED BIRTHDAY GIFT IDEA

  1. I love these so much! Great job ladies!

  2. Thank you for not using about 98% of the photos we took. Those should never see the light of day.

  3. Can I look at the unseen photos in the dark, Jenna?

  4. I loved them….now just looking for the perfect place to showcase them in my home! Thank you ladies for making me feel so special!

  5. Oh wow, that is such a sweet and beautiful birthdya present you got there. your’re friend is very lucky! Love your handmade work and your blog.

    -Sarah

  6. yaay! they look great!
    on another note….
    my nose looks HUGE!
    Kelly, this is where you could use those editing skills of yours! ;)

  7. I LOVE THIS!!!! I think I might have to do this!!!

  8. I say Amber is lucky to have such creative friends like you!

  9. LOVE them! So sweet and such beautiful creators, too!

  10. I think Brittany’s is my favorite – the addition of the yellow sun is perfect!

Leave a Reply

