A SNEAK PEAK into logo development

When I got hired to recreate the branding for Luther Memorial Home, I was excited because I really enjoy brand identity. I find it really challenging because you have to have a strong idea behind it in order for it to be successful. So I thought I would share with you my logo development process. The most interesting thing behind establishing brand identity is how much thought and concept development goes into it. You definitely don’t see that when you look at the final logo. So here’s a little insight into my process. I hope you find this useful!

Luther Memorial Home is a long-term and rehab care home catering to the elderly. Their tag line is “life matters here”. So they really want to get across that they care about helping their residents live a full life.

I usually start by understanding, researching, and writing down key words that pertain to the company.

Then I start looking for some inspirational images:

I always sketch before I go to the computer…

These weren’t all my sketches but I wanted to show you the ones that led to the final choice. After flushing out ideas, I’ll pick out the best ones and move on to the computer.

Here was just 1 concept I showed to the client which ended up becoming the chosen concept. I felt that these were developed enough to share at this point.

This was the winner:

At this point I pay close attention to fix spacing, color, etc.

Finally I apply the logo to how it will actually be used:

What do you think? Do you think it’s successful? I’d love to hear if this process is similar to other designers out there!

11 responses to “A SNEAK PEAK into logo development

  1. That was fun! No relevance to my life but still interesting. Very easy to follow. Nice and clean. :)

  2. I’m really glad you shared this! My dad has asked me to come up with a logo for a new software company he is developing. My mom and I have come up with some ideas but he’s not quite happy with it yet . . . what program are you using to create these??

  3. I LOVE how it turned out. Very serene and inviting. Great job!

    I wish I needed a logo for something…

  4. I love how it looks on the stationary!!!:) You do such a great job, everyone is really excited about the change to the logo!!!

  5. Thanks for sharing this… I don’t think a lot of people realize the amount of work that a good logo takes, and how the designer needs to consider how to use the logo as a base to develop a brand identity. Congratulations on a great job!

  6. That was an insightful process–I definitely learned something new and your design turned out great :)

  7. Loved learning about your process. There is so much that goes into the design of a logo and you captured that. It looks great – strong imagery, clean, on message. I really like how you filled in the dove and used it on the letterhead.

  8. No.
    they totally are.
    they totally are awesome.
    they convey so much meaning and the type is done in such a way where it’s easily read but conveys a sense of gentleness. GREAT job, Kelly. I’d have you make my logos any day.

  9. Thanks, Kelly! I LOVE your blog!!! you are SO talented!

  10. Love the new logo! Mallory was really pleased with the end result. There really is more to making a logo than I realized, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

