DIY GRANDMA DRESS into a spring scarf

I have to give credit to my little sister Abby for this idea. When she came over Christmas, she was wearing a really cute scarf so I asked her about it and she told me made it with some fabric from a dress she found at Savers.

I loved the idea so ever since whenever I would go thrifting I would scout out for floral fabric. (p.s. If you haven’t noticed I have been obsessed with pretty florals lately!) I found this grandma dress at Savers for $2.99 and loved the print. This is so easy to do that you probably don’t even need the steps but here you go away… :)

Step 1: Iron your grandma dress. This makes cutting and sewing sooo much easier.

Step 2: Line up the bottom of the dress along a ruler since you will be making your scarf out of the bottom of the dress.

Step 3: Decide how wide you want your scarf to be. (Mine is about a foot wide.) Then measure and cut all the way around the bottom of the dress.

Step 4: You should now have a long strip of fabric.

Step 5: Make sure the ends of the strip are the same width. This will make sewing easier.

Step 6: Since you cut from the bottom of the dress, one edge of fabric should be hemmed and one edge is unfinished (from where you cut). Now you will hem the fabric on the unfinished edge. So start by folding and ironing the unfinished edge.

Step 7: Now sew all the down the edge you ironed.

Step 8: Trim excess fabric after sewing.

Step 9: Now you will close the ends of the strip of fabric. So sew the right sides together and then trim excess fabric.

Step 10: You should now have a big circle of fabric.

Step 11: To finish, center a button in the middle of the width of the fabric and then sew on.

Loop around your neck and done! A new pretty spring scarf for under $4.00!

37 responses to “DIY GRANDMA DRESS into a spring scarf

  1. What a great idea and so easy! I’m going to have to try that. Thanks for this post — you have such a fun blog!

  2. Jenna Bourland

    This makes me so very happy. I LOVE it.

  3. hannah.kristine

    I love the wood button!! Great idea.

  4. Ahh! I am so glad someone showed me this! I have a scarf obsession and can be seen wearing them even in summer. This is a lovely way to do that and still stay cool. Thanks!

  5. apocalypsecakes

    This is the sort of thing I wear in the kitchen. http://apocalypsecakes.wordpress.com

  6. Wow! This looks great! I might try this…and I am definitely going to let my crafty friend Katie know about your blog~!

  7. This is so pretty! I love the button.

  8. Good idea…..i love this one, thanks for enlightenment.

  9. What a fab idea ! Just love this. I will do this one day ..

  10. beautiful! The grandma dress would be okay if it were A-line, but the scarf is a definite upgrade.

  11. I love you.
    I am so glad I found this blog.
    Consider yourself obtaining +1 more regular reader.

    Question: In Step 9, is that where you sew both of the strip edges together?

  12. Pingback: Craft Win! « un vêtement à la mode

  13. “Grandma” dress? How _charming_!

  14. This is perfect! Now I know exactly what to do with some floral fabric I’ve had for nearly 10 years. Thanks for the inspiration, as well as the steps. :-)

  15. Thought the scarf from a granny dress was a cute idea, but don’t understand why the wooden button was added? Just decorative?

  16. That looks so sweet! DIY rocks! you gave me great inspiration now. Well I’m planning on doing very different scarf but going to a second hand clothes shop would be a great idea. Thanks! ^^

  17. Absolutely fabulous how this was turned into a scarf!!! You inspired me to go to the thrift store :)

  18. Hey, I loved your idea. I have this tiger printed dress that I can’t use anymore. I’d love to have your talent and do something like that with it, but I don’t have. Very inspiring. You’re now, at my fav’s. Thanks for the idea.

  19. loved it! so inspiring!

  20. Pingback: Floral – must be spring… « I ♥ colorz

  21. The fabric makes a lovely scarf, but I think the best (and most original) part was leaving that button on it.

  22. wow, I love it, great idea! :)

  23. That is a genius. And the little button is so cute.

  24. That’s cool can you do this with old long sleeve shirts too? Is there anything for guys here? I think guys get discredited for being artsy fartsy sometimes.

  25. Okayyy, i usually never ever comment to anyones blogs, but now i have to make an exception. The scarf you made is absolutely gorgeous and i got soooo inspired of your blog! Wonderful pictures, what a lovely design and the whole concept of the blog is great!
    Hopefully you’ll keep blogging quite often, because now you have one reader more :D

  26. I can’t wait to make this! Thanks to you and your sister!

  27. Thanks everyone for the kind words! It really encourages me to keep producing work so thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  28. I love this!! Thank you for sharing!!

  29. Love this scarf! You are so creative. I like how you can take something so dowdy and turn it into something so modern and cute. :)

  30. Pingback: A Lovely L’il Spring Scarf «

  31. Beautiful, economical and recycling -all in one-

  32. Pingback: wardrobe remix: drew ailes « high plains thrifter

  33. your my new bf! great tutorials…

Leave a Reply

