DIY TUTORIAL and a giveaway!

Happy Monday everyone! Today I am going to show you how to make this necklace and introduce my first giveaway! Below are the steps to make this tulle necklace. And to win this necklace, just leave me a comment below! A winner will be announced on Friday.

Good luck! Hope you enjoy this little tutorial!

Step 1: Pick out your fabric and beads. I am using black tulle and marbles for the beads. Tulle as I found out is pretty hard to work with! I’ve also done this with lace which was a little easier to handle but you could use any fabric.

Step 2: Measure the fabric around a bead and then add an inch, this is where you will cut.

Step 3: Cut the fabric the long way.

Step 4: You should now have a long strip of fabric. Fold it in half.

Step 5: Sew the folded fabric at the open end.

Step 6: You should now have a tube.

Step 7: In order to turn the tube right side out, attach a safety pin to one end.

Step 8: Feed the safety pin through the tube.

Step 9: Once the tube is right side out, put a bead in the tube and center it.

Step 10: Make a knot at each end of the bead.

Step 11: Feed another bead into the tube and knot after the bead. Alternate sides each time you put a bead in. Repeat putting the bead in and knotting it until you reach a desired look.

Step 12: Sew the ends shut.

Step 13: Add flower by gathering strips of the fabric together and sewing the center together.

Step 14: Add a center to the flower with other beads by threading them through the center of the flower. Attach the flower to the necklace.

Finished Necklace! You can see other necklaces I made similar to this one here.

Now leave a comment for the chance to win this!!

47 responses to “DIY TUTORIAL and a giveaway!

  1. more beautiful jewelry Kelly! thanks for the tutorial, can’t wait to try this out ;)

  2. Wow! I am impressed. Back in the day we used to just make neon bead necklaces…what else were we going to do… watch TV? You are so creative!

  3. this is so pretty… I love that you used marbles and I love the accent flower. I can’t wait to create one!

  4. I wish I was talented enough to make this naclace–its SO cute! Since I’m probably lacking the creative ability, I thought I’d leave a comment instead–maybe have the chance to win it?!!!!

  5. PS. I have no idea what photo posted with my comment?! What on earth?!

  6. Hi Kelly — I love this idea.. It looks really simple to do and it’s very elegant! One quick question: Do you just tie the lace or netting in the back of the neck?

    can’t wait to try this!

  7. Love it! So creative! You make it look so easy:) With those easy to follow steps hopefully I can make one too:)

  8. I bet this post will have the most comments–ever! haha

  9. what a cool idea. Can’t wait to try it!

  10. What a great idea! Love it!

  11. Love love love this!

  12. love this :)

  13. I love the idea! Definitely will be trying it soon!

  14. Kelly-
    I love looking at your blog and seeing what you’re up to. And I also love that your from Minnesota, cuz that’s where I’m from too!!! Anyway, I love the necklace!
    Caiti

  15. I’m loving it! Thanks for the great idea…I’m thinking of all the outfits I could wear it with now… :)

  16. Great tutorial! Thanks for the chance to win.

  17. very pretty! It looks like something from anthro. Love it!

  18. I would love to win! I love that necklace. Thanks

  19. Would LOVE to have this.

  20. I saw this necklace and thought it was gorgeous…thanks for the tutorial…I actually have all the supplies on hand and will be giving this a try this week…just gorgeous!

  21. Love it! So pretty!

  22. I am going to bookmark this and make a few to have on hand for birthday gifts. So pretty!

  23. I love this necklace. I don’t know if i could ever make it, so I hope I win it!

  24. Love this! The flower looks like a nest with a small clutch of eggs. So pretty. Thanks for the step-by-step instructions.

  25. This is fabulous! I am bookmarking so I can make it… in case I don’t win. But I have a good feeling about this!

  26. Wow! I am way impressed. Looks like something from Anthropologie! Thanks for sharing!

  27. Mmm..seriously DELICIOUS! Thanks for the Tutorial!

  28. This is great! Thanks!

  29. WOW! this is so cool, i would love to win!~but thanks for sharing the tutorial, in case I don’t!

  30. Hey Kelly,
    When you posted the first post about this necklace I thought to myself, “I could make that.” I’m glad I read this post because that is not how I would have made it. lol.
    Thanks.
    Megan

  31. Cool necklace, I’d love to win!

  32. This is such a great tutorial! Hope mine turns out as good as yours!

  33. Very nice! Olivia will have to make one!

  34. Carrie Donaldson

    LOVE it! wondering if I could do something like that for my bridesmaids…

  35. Alright, sweet bling! Easy steps – guess I’m fishing for V-day present;)

  36. very cute! this would make the perfect gift for my sis. :)

  37. Whoa Kelly tons of comments! Adorable necklace I love it!

  38. This necklace is beautiful–Do you have an etsy shop? Oh I hope I win :-)

  39. Courtney Holtegaard

    Kelly… love it! i think im going to try the flower part as a headband….also any other ideas for hair?? i ask for my advanced danceline class – would be a fun project (at JLDS:)) let me know what you think!

  40. Love it – what a great idea!

  41. Pingback: Floral – must be spring… « I ♥ colorz

  42. omG! that is so beautiful! great job!! :)

Leave a Reply

