CREATIVITY | battles

myimages-094

I have been seeing some really cool mixed media pieces lately: Anahata Katkin and Promise Tangeman So I decided to do some of my own.myimages-096

There’s always a point in my paintings when I absolutely hate what I’m doing and consider throwing it out or painting over it (which I actually do on occasion!) This is where I am at with the painting above, that’s why you only get to see a tidbit of it. haha Even when a painting is finished, the problems areas that never really got resolved stare at me and taunt me. I know if I go back to them, I will make it worse. So I resolve to be finished with the painting and accept the blemishes. What are some of the battles you go through when creating?

6 responses to “CREATIVITY | battles

  1. awww, I love the little bird!
    …my problem has always been one regarding time. As I sit in front of the computer of my day job, I have always dreamed about what I would do when I got home… oh, the paintings I’ve painted, the quilts I’ve sewn, the old furnishings I’ve repurposed…in my head! As soon as I get home, I’m too tired and mentally worn out to do anything! But boy, you should see the gallery of completed projects I have in my head! :-)

  2. abigail mcwaters

    for me, i always get really ambitious at first and as i continue on with my project, my ambition fades and it sometimes takes days for me to work up the energy to go on with whatever im working on. after those few days i often end up hating what i started! ahhhhh…i need a muse :)

  3. ahh, writer’s block. One thing that helps me write a scene is to leave it alone for a day, and then try to dream about it at night. If I wake up at 2:00 a.m. with an idea, so be it. I can’t get back to sleep until I write it down. Sleep deprivation is a big part of my process unfortunately, and can be influenced by that state of mind. I can’t wait to see out it all turns out. Some of my best play-writing comes from stewing about it all night…

  4. yes, the little bird is beautiful! I agree with the mind gallery. Oh, the books I have written, the characters I have created…

  5. karen: I hear ya, even with this blogging thing, I think “oh the blogs I’ve written…”

    abigail: I do the same thing, although I’ve been getting better at finishing stuff even if I HATE it. I’ll be your muse ;)

    judy: I tend to get really anxious with new projects and become obsessive so I can’t sleep. great advice though, I will try to dream about my next project!

  6. I like your mixed media! Wish I could see the whole thing … :)

    My biggest battle is my inner critic. It’s that little voice in my head that tells me everything that’s wrong with what I’m doing and never seems to tell me what’s right. One thing I’ve found that helps is to be around inspiring work – amazing literature, beautiful paintings, and incredible dancing. I am moved by people who dedicate themselves to an art and it somehow quiets my inner critic, if only for a little while.

Leave a Reply

